Mikel and Echiejile missing as Rohr releases squad for Seychelles clash

Mikel Obi of Nigeria
Mikel and Echiejile missing as Rohr releases squad for Seychelles clash

Super Eagles tactician Gernot Rohr has named most of his 2018 world cup players in the squad for Seychelles clash.

Captain Mikel Obi as expected, has been ruled out through injury, while experienced fullback Elderson Echiejile also misses out.

However, some new players have been invited. Jamilu Collins, Semiu Ajayi and Samuel Kalu get their first invitation, while Henry Onyekuru gets a recall. Porto B midfielder Kelechi Nwakali gets his first chance with the full national team, after featuring in a B team against Atlético Madrid.


GOALKEEPERS: Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna), Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba).

Related Posts

Wilfred Ndidi extends contract until 2024

“We are not in a position to respond favourably to your request”, FIFA tells Nigeria

5 players that could benefit from Victor Moses international retirement

DEFENDERS: William Troost-Ekong (Udinese), Leon Balogun (Brighton), Jamiu Collins (SC Paderborn), Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow), Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto), Ola Aina (Torino), Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United), Kenneth Omeruo (Leganes).

MIDFIELDERS: John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva), Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City), Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City), Joel Obi (Chievo Verona), Kelechi Nwakali (FC Porto B).

FORWARDS: Alex Iwobi (Arsenal), Ahmed Musa (Al-Nassr), Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City), Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai), Henry Onyekuru (Galatasary), ‘Simy’ Nwankwo (FC Crotone).

Nigeria will then travel to Seychelles on the 7th of September for their second match of the 2019 AFCON qualifiers.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.