Nigeria Professional Football League logo

Warri Wolves, Akwa Starlets, Jigawa Stars and Adamawa United promoted to NPFL

The teams for next season Nigeria Professional Football League(NPFL) has all been decided after Warri Wolves, Akwa Starlets, Jigawa Stars and Adamawa United earned promotion to Nigeria highest football league.

The four teams secured their promotion after beating their respective opponent in the Nigeria National League(NNL) play-off on Monday.

2015-season surprise package Warri Wolves returned to the top flight after their relegation three seasons ago. Adamawa United and Jigawa Stars also returned after their relegation in 2007 and 2012 respectively, while Akwa Starlets make their NPFL debut.


Recommended for you

Chelsea promising youngster Ethan Ampadu joins RB Leipzig on loan

David de Gea interested in Manchester United captaincy

Arsenal midfielder Alex Iwobi debunks fake transfer news


Uyo-based club Akwa Starlets advanced after thrashing 3SC 3-0 at the Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba . Wolves defeated Dynamite FC of Benin 5-3 on penalties at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium, Enugu. At the Aper Aku Stadium, Makurdi, Adamawa United defeated FRSC FC  2-1, while Jigawa Golden Stars beat NAF FC of Abuja 3-2 at the Jos Township Stadium.


Warri Wolves players in a team photo before a match


The four teams will now complete the 20 teams for next season NPFL. However, they will battle each other to determine the winner of the NNL from July 31 to August 3, at the Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba.     

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *